Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Eclipses in Outer Space

Our Universe Revealed Series

2024-04-02 18:30:00 2024-04-02 19:30:00 America/New_York Eclipses in Outer Space One way to find planets around other stars in the universe is the eclipse transit method. Learn how Dr. Lauren Weiss uses observational techniques to discover exoplanets. Main Library - Community Learning Center - Leighton Auditorium, Auditorium Lobby

Tuesday, April 02
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-04-02 18:30:00 2024-04-02 19:30:00 America/New_York Eclipses in Outer Space One way to find planets around other stars in the universe is the eclipse transit method. Learn how Dr. Lauren Weiss uses observational techniques to discover exoplanets. Main Library - Community Learning Center - Leighton Auditorium, Auditorium Lobby

Main Library - Community Learning Center

Leighton Auditorium, Auditorium Lobby

One way to find planets around other stars in the universe is the eclipse transit method. Learn how Dr. Lauren Weiss uses observational techniques to discover exoplanets.

Dr. Weiss uses observational techniques to discover exoplanets, which are planets around other stars, and characterize their fundamental properties. Her goals are to understand the origin and evolution of planetary systems and assess whether some exoplanets could be habitable. One way to find planets around other stars in the universe is the eclipse transit method. It works for star-planet systems aligned in a way that, as seen from earth, the planet travels between us and the star, temporarily blocking some of the light from the star once every orbit.


Presented by Lauren Weiss, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy
University of Notre Dame



AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Science & Technology |

TAGS: | |

Main Library - Community Learning Center


Hours
Mon, Apr 15 8:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Apr 16 8:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Apr 17 8:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Apr 18 8:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Apr 19 8:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Apr 20 8:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Apr 21 1:00PM to 5:00PM

Upcoming events

Mon, Apr 15, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Beutter-Kernan Hall
Registration is now closed

Canceled
Mon, Apr 15, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 16, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Apr 17, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Classroom E

Wed, Apr 17, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Classroom B

Thu, Apr 18, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Ballroom (A+B Combined)

Thu, Apr 18, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Classroom B

Fri, Apr 19, 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Ballroom (A+B Combined)

Mon, Apr 22, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium Lobby,Ballroom (A+B Combined),Leighton Auditorium

Wed, Apr 24, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Beutter-Kernan Hall

Thu, Apr 25, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium Lobby,Leighton Auditorium

Thu, Apr 25, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Classroom B

Sat, Apr 27, 9:00am - 12:30pm
Ballroom (A+B Combined)

Sat, Apr 27, 10:00am - 11:00am
Classroom D

Sat, Apr 27, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Auditorium Lobby,Leighton Auditorium

Mon, Apr 29, 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Auditorium Lobby,Ballroom (A+B Combined),Leighton Auditorium

Wed, May 01, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Beutter-Kernan Hall

Wed, May 01, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Ballroom (A+B Combined),Auditorium Lobby

Thu, May 02, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Classroom B

Sat, May 04, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Classroom B

Mon, May 06, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Classroom B

Tue, May 07, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Classroom A

Tue, May 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium Lobby,Leighton Auditorium

Wed, May 08, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Beutter-Kernan Hall

Wed, May 08, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Ballroom (A+B Combined)

Thu, May 09, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Classroom B

Wed, May 15, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Ballroom B